National News,  Politics

Lawan, Gbajabiamila Leads 9th National Assembly

Senator Ahmed Lawan has crossed the threshold of 54 votes required to win the election as President of the 9th Senate.

There are 109 Senate seats but only 107 were present at the inauguration. This meant that the winner only required an absolute majority of 54 votes to win. Lawan has crossed the threshold leading to jubilation by APC senators. At the end of counting, Lawan garnered 79 votes while his challenger, Ali Ndume polled 28 votes.

Meanwhile, Femi Gbajabiamila, APC Lagos, has been elected Speaker of the House of Representatives in the 9th National Assembly.

He was the favoured candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). Gbajabiamila garnered a total number of 283 votes and surpassed the simple majority of 181 votes of 360 members required to win.

He has defeated Umar Bogo, also of the APC, who also ran for the position of speaker against his party’s wish and got 76 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *